SUBSERVIENT: Matias Thread & Denim Project (Part 1)

A couple of weeks back a business card from 2008 jumped in my path.  I was rifling through one of my storage containers, when I saw the little white rectangle full of Matias’ information.

In 2008 I met Matias Sandoval at a clothing convention (designers show off their newest line and buyers buy).  I was newly birthed into the freelance world and trolling for potential clients.

After a quick search to see if he was still in business, I started composing an email.  I was stoked to see that he had weathered the economy and was still working.  30 minutes later my phone rang.  I was greeted with “Hey Sean, it’s Matias.  I’m glad you reached out!”  We caught up.

Matias needed some imagery that he could take with him to trade shows (like the one described above) to promote his Fall 2012 clothing line.

He described his line as “working man’s clothes.”  He further described his clothes as having a traditional side (use of denim) and a luxe side (use of wool).  This reminded me of the gap between the rich and the poor.  Coincidentally that morning, I heard on the radio that the gap between the Rich and the Poor was growing in America.

I set out to whip up a narrative that could be used as a vehicle to promote his clothing.  I pulled in elements from the Occupy movement coupled with a twist of Los Angeles style (Matias is based in LA, so I wanted to pay homage to that).  The word “Subservient” kept creeping into my brain.

Here is a sample of the project.  Stay tuned, there’s more to come…

5 comments
  1. I view something really interesting about your blog so I bookmarked .

  2. Sarah said:

    Hey Sean!
    It was great working with you yesterday! I learned so much, and I can’t wait to see the entire set! I hope to work with you again soon!

    Take care!

    Sarah Young

    • Great to meet and work with you too. Thank you for coming out. See you again soon.

  3. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the project Sean, but as usual, you kept true to your roots, looks good!!!

    Daryn

    • Thanks brother. See you soon in the city of Angels.

Comments / Critiques

